The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times*

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized April work anniversaries.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

There were no public comments.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the March 14, 2022 board minutes, March 21, 2022 work session minutes, a field trip, and continuation of "mask optional" environment.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the 2022-23 local current expense and capital outlay budgets.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the technology plan.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to contract with Averitt's Landscape and Lawn Care to maintain Zone #2 and Stadium Group #2.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to contract with Progreen Landscape Solutions Inc. to maintain Zones #1, 3, and 4 and Stadium Group #1 and 3.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve IIS as the vendor for the security grant.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve Policies 2610 Board Attorney and 2302 Remote Participation in Board Meetings.

Ms. Quinnley Coley, Chief of Finance, gave a quarterly overview of contracts. Dr. Lela Nichols, Chief of Academics, gave an update on summer learning. Dr. Lela Nichols and Dr. Geoffrey Hawthorne, Executive Director of Elementary Education and Federal Programs, presented Science of Reading/LETRS. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney/Student Reassignment.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mr. Bernard Hall, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the April 11, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the implementation of the Central Office salary study findings.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the one-year extension of Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler's contract as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 11:00 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on May 9, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair	Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board