The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Quorum was met with the following members present: Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Chris Perry, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Carey Johnson, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries and BOE NCSBA Awards.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordon, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

There was no public comment.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the December 12, 2022 Board Minutes.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry, and unanimously carried to approve Policy 4260 Student Sex Offender, Policy 4334/5035/7345 Use of Unmanned Aircraft (Drones), and Regulation 4302-R Rules for Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Schools.

A motion was made Mr. Tommy Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to acknowledge the 2021-22 Financial Audit as presented.

The following policy was presented for review to be voted on in February: Policy 6305 Safety and Student Transportation Services. Mrs. Quinnley Coley, Chief of Finance, presented the Quarterly Overview of Continuing Contracts. No action was taken.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Student Discipline/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the January 9, 2023 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Perry, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 7:20 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on February 13, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

\_\_\_\_

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair

Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board