The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Quorum was met with the following members present: Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Chris Perry, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Carey Johnson, *The Franklin Times*

A Moment of Silence was observed and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries and student poster contest winners.

The Honorable Adam Keith, District Court Judge, administered the oath of office to Mrs. Meghan Jordon, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Paige Sayles and Mr. Chris Perry.

Elections were held for the 2022-23 board chair and board vice chair. The floor was opened for nominations for chair. Mrs. Paige Sayles nominated Dr. Elizabeth Keith for chair. Hearing no other nominations. a motion was made by Mr. Tommy Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to close nominations and approve Dr. Elizabeth Keith as chair.

Board Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith then took over the meeting, and the floor was opened for nominations for vice chair. Mrs. Paige Sayles nominated Mrs. Rosemary Champion for vice chair. Hearing no other nominations. a motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mr. Tommy Piper, and unanimously carried to close nominations and approve Mrs. Rosemary Champion as vice chair.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordon, seconded by Mr. Tommy Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

There was no public comment.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the November 21, 2022 Facilities Work Session Minutes and November 21, 2022 Board Minutes.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the School Improvement Plans as presented.

A motion was made Mr. Tommy Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the 2022-23 budget resolution as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry, and unanimously carried to approve the School Nutrition Staff Retention Bonus as presented.

The following policies were presented for review, to be voted on in January: Policy 4260 Student Sex Offender; Policy 4334/5035/7345 Use of Unmanned Aircraft (Drones); Policy 4302-R Rules for Use of Seclusion and Restraint in Schools and Policy 6305 Safety and Student Transportation Services. Policy 6305 will be discussed further at the January meeting and not shared for public comment at this time. No action was taken.

Information was shared in reference to the ESSER Audit Feedback and the Louisburg Magnet High School Athletic Reclassification.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Student Discipline/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to approve the December 12, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:35 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on January 9, 2023 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair	 Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board