The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times* 

Mr. Akeem Bolarinwa, Franklin County News Online

A Moment of Silence was observed in remembrance of Madison Nelms, Louisburg High School sophomore who was critically injured in a car accident on her way to school last week, and Ora Hartsfield, a long-time employee of Franklin County Schools who worked as a social worker and most recently as an active substitute teacher who passed away in January.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries for employees with 5+, 10+, 15+, 20+, and 25+ years of service. Mrs. Rosa Johnson, Data Manager at Laurel Mill Elementary School, was presented the Legacy of Service Award, honoring her 52 years of dedicated service to Franklin County Schools.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to extend the time allotted for public comment to allow all who signed up to be able to speak.

During Public Comment, the following people spoke concerning the election redistricting for the new District 5: Mr. Gary Evans (111 Saddleview Lane, Franklinton), Mr. Clarence Williams (106 Bonterra Drive, Youngsville) Ms. Sherry Ellis (237 Clifton Pond Road, Louisburg), Ms. Armenta Eaton (1844 Mays Crossroads, Louisburg), Ms. Bobbie Richardson (7309 NC 561 Hwy., Louisburg). The following people spoke against masking and COVID-19 procedures: Miss Evie and Ms. Jennie Tober (270 Rivers Edge, Youngsville), Miss Aubree Gillmore and Ms. April Lloyd (256 Old Express Road, Louisburg), Ms. Lauren Wood (392 Duke Memorial Road, Louisburg), Ms. Carrie Gilliam (1149 Dorsey Road, Louisburg), Mr. Bradley Lester (1404 Hickory Road Road, Louisburg), Ms. Erin Reed (790 Alford Mill Road, Bunn), Ms. Rose Holmes (1587 Beasley Road, Louisburg), Mr. Chris Perry (550 Barnette Road, Louisburg), Mr. Joe Balazsi (15 Lochs Lane, Youngsville), Ms. Connie Joe Hutchinson (206 John Street, Louisburg), and Ms. Mary Jo Byrd (25 Kathleen Court, Youngsville). Ms. Joellen Goth (95 Consella Way,

Franklinton) spoke against masking, COVID-19 procedures, and playground accessibility for children with disabilities. The Public Comment portion of the meeting was 51 minutes in total.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the January 10, 2022 board minutes.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper and seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles to postpone the monthly mask vote until February 28th, at which time we will reconvene with a special call meeting to determine whether we can safely shift to a "masks optional" environment. The motion passed with a four to two vote with Mrs. Paige Sayles, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Rosemary Champion voting in favor and Mrs. Debra Brodie and Mrs. Meghan Jordan voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to implement a substitute teacher bonus that rewards substitute teachers for working consistently through pay periods for the 2021-2022 school year.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to implement an assistant principal bonus that rewards them for their additional work during the COVID pandemic and acts as a retention bonus.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to nominate Mrs. Debra Brodie for the 2022 NCSBA Legislative Committee.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to acknowledge the Fiscal Year 2020-21 Financial Audit Review as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to accept the bid of Alford Mechanical for the Edward Best Elementary School HVAC project.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to ratify the Board of Education districts promulgated by the Franklin County Board of County Commissioners with the modification that census block 370690606012002 be part of District 4, and I incorporate by reference the attached map styled "Franklin County District Map Option #1 revised 02/14/2022" into this motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve Policies 3640 Student Voter Registration and 7720 Employee Political Activities.

Dr. Lela Nichols, Chief of Academics, presented the proposed 2023-24 school calendars. Dr. Larry Webb, Chief of Auxiliary Services presented updates on the Franklinton Elementary School grant proposal and on alternative learning. The following policies were presented for review, to be voted on in March: Policies 4050 Children of Military Families, 4120 Domicile or Residence Requirements, and 4150 School Assignments. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler had no further information to report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the February 14, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 9:33 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on March 14, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board