The Franklin County Board of Education met in an emergency meeting at 10:00 a.m. at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, and Mrs. Meghan Jordan being present in person and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Mr. Bernard Hall, and Mr. Thomas Piper joining electronically. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie and unanimously carried to make masks optional for students and staff in Franklin County Schools effective February 21. Exceptions in which masking would still be required include on school buses, which is a federal regulation, and based upon specific requirements from NCDHHS guidance for positive and presumptive positive cases.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles and unanimously carried to open facilities for use to outside organizations based upon pre-COVID parameters, effective March 1.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 10:12 a.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on March 14, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair

Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board