The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. at the Franklin County Schools' Riverside Campus. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Vice Chair Mr. Chris Perry, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mr. Thomas Piper, Mrs. Paige Sayles, Dr. Candice Hinton and Mr. Thomas Harris. There was no one absent. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan called the meeting to order

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized Character Trait of the Month Students.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment no one spoke.

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and seconded by Mr. Chris Perry. Before proceeding to a vote, Mr. Tom Harris requested discussion. After the discussion, the motion was unanimously approved. The consent agenda included the minutes from the April 14, 2025 Board Meeting, the April 23, 2025 Emergency Board Vote, and the April 24, 2025 Reassignment Meeting.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry and unanimously carried to approve Policy Code: 3420 Student Promotion and Accountability and Policy Code: 6330 Insurance for Student Transportation Services as presented. These policies sat out for 30 days with no public comments.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Harris, seconded by Dr. Candice Hinton and unanimously carried to approve the EC Extended Content Bonus as presented.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Perry, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and unanimously carried to approve the selection of Progressive Design Collaborative (PDC) for professional design and bid services of our remaining ARPA projects as presented.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Harris, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles and unanimously carried to approve the FCS Career and Technical Education Local Application for the 2025-2026 school year as presented.

A motion to approve the members of the CTE Business Advisory Council was made by Mr. Thomas Piper and seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith. Prior to the vote, Mr. Tom Harris requested a discussion regarding the composition of the advisory council. Following the discussion, the motion was approved by a vote of five to one. Voting in favor were Dr. Candice Hinton, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Paige Sayles, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mr. Chris Perry. Mr. Tom Harris voted against the motion.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Harris, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and unanimously carried to approve the plan to pay the Small County and Low Wealth Signing Bonus for Teachers and Instructional Support (2024-25) as presented.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Perry, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the plan for Supplement Funds for Teacher Compensation as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and unanimously carried to approve the contract for the 2024-25 audit to Forvis Mazars, LLP as presented.

Information Policies: 4318 Use of Wireless Communication and Other Electronic Devices, 2330 Board Meeting Agenda, 7500 Workday and Overtime, and 2121 Board Member Conflict of Interest were shared, these items will sit out for 30 days for public comment. Other information was shared with no action taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry, and unanimously carried to approve the April 12, 2025 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 10:07 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on June 9, 2025 at 6:00 p.m.

Meghan Jordan, Chair	Teresa Everett, Clerk to the Board