The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times*

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment, Mr. Charles Baio (2206 Chelsea Dr. NW, Wilson, NC) had several questions about the school system; Dr. Keith asked Mr. Baio to reach out to Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler so that she could answer his specific questions. Ms. Connie Jo Hutchinson (206 John Street, Louisburg, NC) addressed the mask policy..

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the December 13, 2022 board minutes.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper and seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles to continue required masking indoors at all times for all preK-12 students, staff and visitors to campus, with the exception of meals and in the event of a district-approved mask exemption for medical reasons. The motion passed with a four to three vote with Chair Rosemary Champion, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles voting in favor of the motion and Mrs. Debra Brodie and Mrs. Meghan Jordan voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper and unanimously carried to accept the modified 2022-2023 calendars as proposed by staff.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan and unanimously carried to approve Gupton Services as the vendor to replace chillers at Bunn Elementary School for a cost of \$145,282.00.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles and unanimously carried to approve Ranes Heating and Air as the vendor to replace chillers at Louisburg Elementary School for a cost of \$230,300.00.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles and seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion to contract with Davis Kane Architects, PA to complete the Long Range Facility Assessment for the total of \$180,000.00 to be expended from Capital Outlay Fund Balance. The motion passed with a five to one vote with Mrs. Debra Brodie, Chair Rosemary Champion, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and Mrs. Paige Sayles voting in favor of the motion and Mr. Thomas Piper voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper and unanimously carried to approve development of the Needs Based Capital Fund application for a new Franklinton Elementary School facility, including communication and coordination with Franklin County to support these efforts.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie and unanimously carried to approve Policies 1310/4002 Parental Involvement; 8305 Federal Grant Administration; 8310 Annual Independent Audit; 5210 Distribution & Display of Non-School Material; 5070/7350 Public Records: Retention, Release, & Disposition; and 5071/7351 Electronically Stored Information/Retention.

The following policies were presented for review, to be voted on in February: Policies 3640 Student Voter Registration and 7720 Employee Political Activities. Dr. Lela Baldwin, Chief of Academics gave an update on records retention. Ms. Quinnley Coley, Chief of Finance, presented the quarterly overview of contracts. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie,, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the January 10, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:40 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on February 14, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair	Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board