The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Mr. Bernard Hall and Mrs. Meghan Jordan were absent. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries in the month of March.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda deleting "approval of lawn care vendor(s)."

There were no public comments.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the February 14, 2022 and February 18, 2022 board minutes.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to maintain a "masks optional" environment for all Franklin County Schools.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the 2023-24 school calendars.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to approve the summer remediation plan as presented.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to contract with the company District C to provide our Career Accelerator Summer Program for our high school students for the cost of \$108,480 and to approve the purchase of an anatomage table for Louisburg High School using ABC transfer CTE funds at the cost of \$105,040.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to accept the Safe Schools Equipment Grant in the amount of \$315,000.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to accept the NCDPI K-12 Athletic Facilities Grant in the amount of \$117,662.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve Policies 4050 Children of Military Families, 4120 Domicile or Residence Requirements, and 4150 School Assignments.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Ms. Quinnley Coley, Chief of Finance, presented proposed budgetary priorities for 2022-23. Dr. Lela Nichols, Chief of Academics, gave an update on Virtual Academy.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, presented our new district logo. While a vote by the board was not required, as a measure of support and appreciation, a motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the new district logo. The new logo will be rolled out March 15, 2022.

The following policies were presented for review, to be voted on in April: Policies 2610 Board Attorney and 2302 Remote Participation in Board Meetings. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to approve the March 14, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:10 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on April 11, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

## Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair