The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. at the Franklin County Schools' Riverside Campus. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Vice Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mrs. Paige Sayles and Mr. Thomas Piper. Mr. Chris Perry and Attorney Boyd Sturges were absent. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler was present. Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles., seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment no one spoke.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the August 12, 2024 board minutes and September 4, 2024 FCS Capital Committee school visit minutes.

A motion was made to approve the Policies for Action: 1510/4200/7279-School Safety 1725/4035/7236- Title IX Sexual Harassment- Prohibited Conduct and Reporting Process, 1725/4035/7236 R Title IX Sexual Harassment, 1726/4036/7237 Title IX Sexual Harassment Grievance Process, 7232 Discrimination and Harassment in the Workplace, 1710/4020/7230 Discrimination and Harassment Prohibited by Federal Law, 1720/4030/7235 Title IX Nondiscrimination on the Basis of Sex, 1725/4035/7236 Title IX Sexual Harassment- Prohibited Conduct Grievance Procedures, 4023/7233 Pregnant and Parenting Students and Employees, 4329/7311 Bullying and Harassing Behavior Prohibited, with added language added to each Title IX policy. * This policy does not apply to any Franklin County School enjoined from implementing this policy by a court of competent jurisdiction. If such a school is released from such an injunction, then the school will abide by this policy.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper and unanimously carried to approve the I-Ready Contract for 1 year as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper and unanimously carried to approve Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, Mrs. Paige Sayles, and Dr. Elizabeth Keith as the 4 voting delegates and Mr. Chris Perry, Mrs. Debra Brodie, and Mrs. Rosemary Champion as the alternates for the 2024-25 North Carolina School Boards Association (NCSBA) Annual Conference.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles and unanimously carried to approve the Franklin County Board of Education, a body politic convey to Franklin County, a body politic all its right, title, and interest in that certain parcel of land being 8.737 acres more or less and being more particularly described in that certain deed recorded in Deed Book 1174 Pages 867-868 of the Franklin County Registry of Deeds said description being incorporated herein as if fully set forth. This conveyance is made subject to all easements and encumbrances of record and is done without monetary consideration and the Franklin County Board of Education makes no warranties related to the title as presented.

Information was shared, no action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the September 16, 2024 Personnel Report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 9:01 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held October 14, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Rosemary Champion, Chair	Teresa Everett, Clerk to the Board