The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:30 p.m. The meeting was off schedule due to the Board of Commissioner's budget meeting also scheduled for June 13, 2022. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler was present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times*

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries for the month of June. He also recognized those who have earned AIG add-on certification and our mental health coordinators.

The board recognized the recent deaths of two retired long-time Franklin County Schools' employees: Mr. James Foster and Mr. James Gilliam.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

There were no public comments.

A motion was made by Mr. Bernard Hall, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the amended April 11, 2022 board minutes and May 9, 2022 board minutes.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the 2022-2025 AIG plan as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the Career and Technical Education Program Local Application for the 2022-23 school year.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve a \$250 per unit stipend for all staff who complete LETRS 3rd Edition training and a \$75 bonus for each staff member who achieves mastery on the end-of-unit assessments and approve a \$100 per unit stipend for PreK staff who complete the LETRS Early Childhood

training and a \$75 bonus for each staff member who achieves mastery of end-of-unit assessments.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve a \$4,000 bonus to all secondary math teachers to be paid in June 2023.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the plan for State PRC071 to pay \$1,075 to each eligible employee.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the Alternative Learning Program as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to approve the School-Based Mental Health Plan as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the fee schedule for 2022-23.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to renew the contracts of our current custodial contractors for the 2022-23 school year.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the recommendation to increase the cost of paid lunch by the minimum state-required increase of \$0.10.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the milk bid, grocery bid and the supply bid as presented.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Student Reassignment/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the June 30, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and
unanimously carried to adjourn at 9:44 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held o
July 11, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair

Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board

