The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Mrs. Debra Brodie joined the meeting via telephone at 6:53 p.m. then in person at 7:54 p.m. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times* Mr. Akeem Bolarinwa, *Franklin County News Online*

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized work anniversaries.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment, Ms. Cleo Evans, retiring employee, thanked the board for the opportunity to serve Franklin County Schools and spoke about her concerns regarding course assignments and transportation with the new hybrid alternative learning program.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the August 8, 2022 board minutes.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mrs. Paige Sayles, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Rosemary Champion as voting delegates and Mrs. Debra Brodie as alternate delegate for the 2022-23 NCSBA Annual Conference.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the implementation of a \$250 referral bonus that rewards our current permanent employees for referring candidates to work at Franklin County Schools as a permanent employee.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to allow additional adjustments to the banded steps within the 2022-2023 classified pay table.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles and seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion to approve our Franklin County Schools' 2022-2023 i-Ready Renewal Contract. The motion carried with a five to one vote with Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles voting in favor and Mrs. Meghan Jordan voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve contracting with the company District C to provide the 2022-2023 Career Accelerator Summer Program.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve Alford Mechanical as the vendor for the HVAC replacement/upgrade at Youngsville Elementary for \$1,668,000 and Laurel Mill Elementary for \$1,359,000.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to approve Policies 4100 Age Requirement for Initial Entry, 2121 Board Member Conflict of Interest, 2430 Dissemination and Preservation of Policies, 2600 Consultants to the Board, and 2410 Policy Development, and rescind Policies 2420 Adoption of Policies, 2440 Policy Review and Evaluation, and 2450 Suspension of Board Policies due to revisions to Policy 2410.

Dr. Lela Baldwin, Chief of Academics, and Dr. Josh Griffin, Director of Testing and Accountability, presented an accountability update. Mrs. Melissa Thomas, Principal of Louisburg High School, and Dr. Danyelle Parker, Executive Director of Secondary Education and Career and Technical Education Program. presented information regarding new branding for Louisburg High School. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Student Reassignment/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to approve the September 12, 2022 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:39 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on October 10, 2022 at 6:00 p.m. at the Central Office, Riverside Campus.

