The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. Due to COVID-19 social distancing recommendations, the meeting was conducted at the Louisburg High School auditorium. Quorum was met with the following members present: Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times* 

A Moment of Silence was observed in memory of Ms. Keisha Brodie, Franklin County Schools' bus driver who recently passed away. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized the Franklin County Board of Education for earning the Gold Bell Award for Whole-Board Achievement through the North Carolina School Board Association (NCSBA). Individual board members earned recognition through the NCSBA's Academy for School Boardmanship for cumulative training hours earned: Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Certificate of Achievement; Mr. Thomas Piper, Certificate of Advanced Achievement; Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Award of Excellence; Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Award of Distinction; Mr. Bernard Hall, Diploma of Honor; Mrs. Debra Brodie, Silver Award; and Mrs. Paige Sayles, Scholars Circle.

Elections were held for the 2021-22 board chair and board vice chair. The floor was opened for nominations for chair. Mrs. Meghan Jordan nominated Dr. Elizabeth Keith for chair. Hearing no other nominations. a motion was made by Mr. Bernard Hall, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to close nominations and approve Dr. Elizabeth Keith as chair.

Board Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith then took over the meeting, and the floor was opened for nominations for vice chair. Mr. Bernard Hall nominated Mrs. Rosemary Champion for vice chair. Hearing no other nominations. a motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Bernard Hall, and unanimously carried to close nominations and approve Mrs. Rosemary Champion as vice chair.

District 7 Representative Matthew Winslow was unable to attend the meeting. A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda with the deletion of Item 9.1, Legislative Budget Update by Representative Winslow.

During Public Comment, Ms. Connie Jo Hutchinson spoke against masking. Mr. Joe Balazki spoke against masking and in favor of having more textbooks in schools in addition to the

current electronic devices and online curriculum resources. Ms. Tasha Hatten spoke in support of masking.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the November 8, 2021 board minutes.

A motion was made by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles to continue required masking indoors at all times for all preK-12 students, staff and visitors to campus, with the exception of meals and in the event of a district-approved mask exemption for medical reasons. The motion passed with a four to two vote with Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, Mr. Bernard Hall, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles voting for the motion and Mrs. Debra Brodie and Mrs. Meghan Jordan voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the 2021-22 budget resolution as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the multi-year financial bonus plan for staff to support our recruitment and retention efforts utilizing ESSER funding.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, and unanimously carried to grant approval to negotiate a contract with Davis-Kane Architects PA/Kilian Engineering to complete the Franklin County Schools' Long Range Plan.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to declare the Mitchell Media Center Complex as surplus property.

A motion was made by Mrs. Meghan Jordan, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve Policies 4270 Concussion and Head Injury, 3620 Extracurricular Activities and Student Organizations, 4400 Attendance, 3230 Copyright, 4700 Student Records, and 3460 Graduation Requirements, tabling 3640 Student Voter Registration until January.

The following policies were presented for review, to be voted on in January: Policies 1310/4002 Parental Involvement, 8305 Federal Grant Administration, 8310 Annual Independent Audit, 5210 Distribution & Display of Non-School Material, 5070/7350 Public Records: Retention, Release, & Disposition, and 5071/7351 Electronically Stored Information/Retention. No action was taken.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler had no further information to report.

Chair Dr. Elizabeth Keith announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/Student Discipline/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to return to open session.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the December 13, 2021 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Vice Chair Rosemary Champion, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 9:27 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on January 10, 2022 at 6:00 p.m.

Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Chair Diane D. Marks, Clerk to the Board