The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. at the Franklin County Schools' Riverside Campus. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Vice Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Chris Perry, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. There was no one absent. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, The Franklin Times

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized National Board Certification and Character Trait of the Month.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment no one spoke.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the January 8, 2024 board minutes, January 22, 2024 special called work session minutes, and an overnight field trip.

Information items; Quarterly Overview of Continuing Contracts, and 2025-26 School Calendar were presented, no action taken.

A Motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith and unanimously carried to separate Policy 4130 from the other policies, for voting purposes.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Perry, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles to approve the updates and changes to policy 4130 as presented. The motion passed with a vote of six to one, Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Vice Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Mr. Chris Perry, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, and Mrs. Paige Sayles all voting in favor of the motion and Mr. Thomas Piper voting against the motion.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the updates to policies 4150, 4110, and 5210 as presented.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles and unanimously carried to approve the nomination for the 2024 NCSBA Legislative Committee Thomas Piper.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the TLMS Parking Lot Vendor as presented.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)(3) Personnel/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry, and unanimously carried to approve the February 12, 2024 Personnel Report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mrs. Debra Brodie, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 7:35 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on March 11, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.

Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Chair	Teresa Everett, Clerk to the Board	