The Franklin County Board of Education met in regular session at 6:00 p.m. at the Franklin County Schools' Riverside Campus. Quorum was met with the following members present: Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion, Vice Chair Mrs. Meghan Jordan, Mrs. Debra Brodie, Dr. Elizabeth Keith, Mr. Chris Perry, Mr. Thomas Piper, and Mrs. Paige Sayles. No one was absent. Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler and Attorney Boyd Sturges were present. Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion called the meeting to order.

Media: Mr. Gary Cunard, *The Franklin Times*

Mr. Akeem Bolarinwa, Franklin County News Online

A Moment of Silence was observed, and the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Mr. Dawayne McIntosh, Director of Communications, recognized Work Anniversaries, Character Trait of the Month, and Board Recognitions.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mrs. Paige Sayles, and unanimously carried to approve the agenda.

During Public Comment, No one spoke.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Thomas Piper, and unanimously carried to approve the consent agenda that consisted of the December 11, 2023 board minutes.

A motion was made by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to approve the 2022-23 Fiscal Audit Review as presented.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mr. Chris Perry, and unanimously carried to approve the BHS Theater Lighting Vendor as presented.

Superintendent Dr. Rhonda Schuhler gave a brief oral Superintendent's Report.

Chair Mrs. Rosemary Champion announced upcoming meetings.

A motion was made by Mrs. Paige Sayles, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to go into closed session for the purpose of G.S.143.318.11(a)(1)/(3) Personnel/ Student Discipline Appeal Hearing/Consult with Attorney.

A motion was made by Mr. Thomas Piper, seconded by Dr. Elizabeth Keith, and unanimously carried to approve the January 8, 2024 personnel report as presented and attached herein.

A motion was made by Mr. Chris Perry, seconded by Mrs. Debra Brodie, and unanimously carried to adjourn at 8:24 p.m. The next regular board meeting will be held on February 12, 2024 at 6:00 p.m.	
Rosemary Champion, Chair	Teresa Everett, Clerk to the Board